Staff and Board of Directors

All staff and directors are volunteers working to preserve Warren County’s history

The Warren County Historical Society (WCHS) Board of Directors is responsible for the financial stewardship, protection and preservation of the Society. Together with a corps of volunteers and individual funders, we’re working to grow membership, educate our community, aid researchers, and preserve the work of generations of Warren Countians.

Office Administrator Jan Sutherland and Curator Susie Busekrus run our office and Museum operations. 

The Board meets monthly, usually on the third Thursday evening of each month. Meetings are open to the public and are usually held at the Museum.

  • David Avis 
  • Jan Lutz
    Vice President
  • Cathy Raterman
    Recording Secretary
  • Roger Nierman
    Membership Secretary
  • Gary Scott
  • Jan Sutherland
    Office Administrator
  • Anita Branson
  • Gary Buxton
  • Karen Corder
  • Martha Groeper
  • Roger Nierman
  • Dr. Jim Schmittel
  • Judy Sprick

“We’re blessed to have great support from our community and from individual board members and staff. Their tireless work is what keeps the spirit and mission of the Historical Society thriving in Warren County.”

— David Avis, President WCHS Board of Directors
John Barry as the Butler volunteering at the Schowengerdt House
John Barry as the Butler volunteering at the Schowengerdt House

Volunteer with us

Whether it’s landscaping or leading a tour, your help ensures the Museum and grounds are ready to inspire and educate everyone who comes through the door.

There's more history to explore

Item added to cart.
0 items - $0.00
Skip to content